Starting October 1, 2013, Florida will join 40 other states to ban texting while driving. However, unlike a majority of the states, violation of this new law will only be a secondary office. That means a law enforcement official will have to witness another offense like swerving or running a stop sign, in order to legally stop a texting driver.
Another loophole in Florida’s texting law is that it does not apply to drivers in stopped vehicles. Once stopped at a light, Florida drivers can legally check email and text away while behind the wheel. The fines for violating this new law are so small they are no real deterrent. First time offenders will only pay $30.00 plus court costs and subsequent offenders will only pay $60.
At the Fernandez Firm Accident Injury Attorneys, our lawyers are actively involved in the political effort and support legislative attempts to prevent all texting while driving in Florida. In Tallahassee and in courtrooms throughout the Sunshine State, our attorneys are committed to protecting the rights of those who have innocently fallen victim to a texting or distracted driving accident in Florida.